You are here

Home

Financial Literacy Month Events for November 2012

Financial Literacy Month is in November and the Credit Counselling Society is excited to host a variety of activities, workshops, webinars and a contest to help increase money management skills of Canadians.

We have events planned all across Canada and in various communities. Come join us either in person or online and flex your financial fitness muscle! Click here to view the calendar of events.

Jump to the section you want

Student Success Workshops for Post Secondary Students

8 Different Credit & Personal Money Management Webinars (Online Workshops)

Ask the Expert - Live Tweet Chats for Everyone

Calendar or Events for Financial Literacy Month

Contest for Grade School & High School Students

Thank you to everyone for your submissions. We were overwhelmed by how many creative, funny and interesting submissions we received. You outdid yourselves and it showed! So, without further ado, here are the winners:

1st Prize: Stephanie Cook (15 years old)

2nd Prize: Trenton Sewell (13 years old)

3rd Prize: RJ Guatlo (15 years old)

Congratulations to all of you! Click here to learn more about the essay contest, see pictures of the winners and read some great quotes from the honorable mentions.

Student Success Workshops for Post Secondary Students

When students know how to manage their spending plan, credit cards and debt, they are better able to focus on higher education. 

Education Specialists throughout Canada will be facilitating our Student Success Workshop at local colleges and universities from BC to Ontario to help students build their money management skills.

If you are a professor or instructor and would like to have us as a guest speaker, contact the Director of Education for more information. 

8 Credit & Personal Money Management Webinars (Online Workshops) to Choose From

What are you doing for Financial Literacy Month? Sit and get fit, financially speaking, of course! 

Our Education Specialists will be facilitating a variety of practical online workshops for all Canadian consumers. It's easy to join us from the comfort of your computer. Topics will include:

7 Deadly Sins of Credit

How do the 7 deadly sins (pride, lust, envy, wrath, sloth, gluttony, and greed) apply to (mis-) using credit? Join us to learn how to create strategies to help you stop worrying about money.

November 20, 2012 (Tuesday) 6pm PST, 7pm MST, 8pm CST, 9pm EST           Register to Attend Online

Navigating Your Financial Storm with a MAP (Money Action Plan)

Do you have an action plan for your money? Or is there nothing left to plan with because your pay cheque is already spent?  If you’ve always wanted to learn how to create your own budget, this is the webinar for you.  Participants will learn to create a money action plan by tracking their expenses, planning their paycheques, creating a savings plan and setting realistic goals.

November 27, 2012 (Tuesday) 6pm PST, 7pm MST, 8pm CST, 9pm EST           Register to Attend Online

Ending the Financial Feud (Couples & Money)

Did you know that fighting about money is one of the biggest reasons why couples break up? Money-proof your relationship by joining us in this webinar where you will learn how to work together and draw on each other's strengths.

November 21, 2012 (Wednesday) 5pm PST, 6pm MST, 7pm CST, 8pm EST      Register to Attend Online

Raising Financially Fit Kids

One of the easiest ways that you can balance your own budget is to help your kids learn about money. This webinar is for parents. You’ll come with practical tips you can implement right away.

November 14, 2012 (Wednesday) 7pm PST, 8pm MST, 9pm CST, 10pm EST        Register to Attend Online

Raising Financially Responsible Teens

Are you being 20 dollar-ed to death by your teen? Do you hate saying no all the time?  Parents will learn some strategies to help their teenager become a financially responsible adult by planning for school, buying a vehicle and even saving for a home.

November 13, 2012 (Tuesday) 6pm PST, 7pm MST, 8pm CST, 9pm EST           Register to Attend Online

Debt Reduction Strategies

Do you have questions on how to deal with debt? There are various solutions to managing and reducing debt. Without having to share personal information, join us to learn more.

November 28, 2012 (Wednesday) 5pm PST, 6pm MST, 7pm CST, 8pm EST     Register to Attend Online

Christmas Without Credit

Did you know that the holiday season is less than 3 months away? Join us for “Christmas without Credit," a free, 1 hour webinar where you will learn how to plan ahead to avoid a debt hangover in January.

November 14, 2012 (Wednesday) 5pm PST, 6pm MST, 7pm CST, 8pm EST     Register to Attend Online

Ask the Expert - Live Tweet Chats

Sometimes the best thing you can do is ask an expert! We are hosting live tweet chats with money and debt experts during October and November. Follow us on Twitter and ask us your questions. Here are some of the tweet chats that will be taking place:

Parenting & Money

November 8, 2012 (Thursday) 5:30pm PST, 6:30pm MST, 7:30pm CST, 8:30pm EST

RESP’s

November 15, 2012 (Thursday) 5:30pm PST, 6:30pm MST, 7:30pm CST, 8:30pm EST

Planning for School

November 22, 2012 (Thursday) 5:30pm PST, 6:30pm MST, 7:30pm CST, 8:30pm EST

Student Loans

November 29, 2012 (Thursday) 5:30pm PST, 6:30pm MST, 7:30pm CST, 8:30pm EST

All tweet chats will take place on MyMoneyCoach's Twitter page (if you don't have a Twitter account you can easily create one at Twitter.com).

More Financial Literacy Month Information & Events

If you have any questions about Financial Literacy Month, our Director of Education and Community Awareness would love to hear from you.

For a full list of events taking place on MyMoneyCoach.ca, visit our Financial Literacy Month calendar of events. For more information about Financial Literacy Month and other events taking place across Canada, click here to visit the official website.

 

<< Go back to the Blog main page